A Lesser Known Parable

This morning, I was having trouble leaving the house  because of this situation: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=hPHLQNyKFZ8&feature=youtu.be

So just to ensure I was late to work, I video taped my cat and sent his stunningly cute image to all my friends and family.

This, in response, from my father:

 

On Tue, Mar 18, 2014 at 1:32 PM, Dad wrote:

Well, Meta is awesomely cute!

However, I’m a little jaded right now about animals in general. My coworker has an adorable little dog that he brings to the office and it runs around and everyone the office loves it including me. An hour ago I had a meeting in my office about a funeral this Saturday. We had just sat down when the dog came in to say hello. Then he walked over between our chairs and took what a friend of mine used to refer to as “a righteous crap.” He is a small dog, but you wouldn’t know it by what he left on the floor. Besides the embarrassing clean up, I had to pull the storm windows off and open the office windows because the room had become uninhabitable!

What would Jesus Do?

Love, Dad

 

Apparently he’s never heard the Poo Parable. I guess that didn’t make it into the synoptic gospels. I’ll reproduce it here for your reference.

From the Gospel according to Herman:

One of the multitude came up to him and asked, “Lord, tell me how to spread your word and speak as you have spoken and I will go and tell it to my family, that they may learn as I have learned.”

And Jesus said to him, “Behold this little dog. He has no power of speech. All he says he says in barks and yips. He cowers close to the ground and accepts the pat of your palm, yet he is closer to the kingdom of heaven than you. For who among you can spread joy as he spreads joy with one pant of the breath? And who among you can give forth a mound of raw earth from his rear end greater in size than even himself? With one movement of the bowels this creature fills the whole room with absolute knowledge of his presence. So, too, does your Lord, my Father. So, too, is the kingdom of heaven apparent to those who know how to smell. Who will now ask to speak as I have spoken or spread words and not the mute aroma of his love?”

And the man came forth with bowed head and knelt at Jesus’ feet and said, “Teacher,” and took the pooper-scooper which the disciples then presented to him.

– Herman, 14:17-28

And that’s your scripture lesson for today.

Leave a Reply

